top of page

PODCAST

EPISODES

PODCAST

EPISODES

029



Well it's been no secret that lately I've been struggling with the fact that I don't have a typical family experience... or any family experience, if we're going to be completely honest. But in true Carolina fashion, this week I wanted to find and share the silver linings, the perks, of not having a family. You can only let things that bother you, hold you down and hold you back for so long. Until you just have to come to terms with the fact that there's no pressure. Your happiness, and your choices are your own.


Key Points:

  • I don't talk a lot about my dad or that side of the family because we still cross paths, and I do worry about saying something detrimental that I can't take back

  • It's easier to talk about my mother, because no one in my life really knows her so there's no risk in changing the perception of her

  • There's a thing line between sharing what you need to share, and venturing into sharing too much

  • We don't have the luxury of separating our personal lives from our personal lives anymore, employers and corporations search Google to see what comes up for a person

  • There are stories that I haven't shared yet because I'm concerned about how it's going to make the other person look. I can't bring myself to destroy somebody else's life because they caused me pain, just to show that my life got better

  • Have to give myself the grace that I'm not going to be able to just jump right back into everything again

  • With zero family, you're free and liberated. You don't have to worry about disappointment, or being embarrassing

  • You don't have to fight with your partners about whose family your going to spend the holidays with

  • There's no pressure to explain yourself, or your actions

  • My family are those who want to be in my life, and aren't forced to be in my life

Mentioned in this Episode:

  • Folklorama

  • Google Quote: Don't worry about the family that ignores you and acts like you don't matter. Love the ones who are always there for you. No matter what.


Thank you so much for choosing to spend time with me.

Come join our Facebook group, The Way I C It Community to engage in more conversation, and follow me on instagram, @misslinavee for more insight and updates!

If you have anything you want to tell me, or want me to touch on, you can also connect through the contact page


Get it on iTunes Icon
Google Play Music
Stitcher App Icon

Recent Posts

See All

Bringing Me the Joy

Carolina has a strong presence that draws people toward her. I have seen staff members turn to her for her life experience, leadership skills and her honesty. The respect and admiration of her peers is a reflection of her strength and accomplishments in the face of adversity. Carolina displays a great sense of integrity, she always follows through when she commits. Her word is her bond.

Jean Gaultier
bottom of page