top of page

PODCAST

EPISODES

PODCAST

EPISODES

008

Updated: Jun 25, 2018




TW: sexual assault, child abuse


In my most surprising and opening episode yet, I talk about my experience with childhood sexual abuse. Children of sexual abuse carry a lot of guilt and shame within them, and I did for years. But I shine the light on this situation and I open up about my experience, and how I got through because I know I’m not the only one. I struggled for a long time with my past, but I finally said no more. This wasn’t my fault. I didn’t bring this onto myself.

Key Points:

  • I’m okay. I got through this experience, and others, and I’m okay.

  • Please take care of yourself first

  • I come from a broken family that goes back generations of brokenness

  • When I started to get uncomfortable, I was convinced that everything was fine

  • Children trust adults because they’re older, and they should know better

  • This went on for about two years before anyone noticed what was happening

  • I blocked out what happened once the police got involved

  • I have no idea if speaking up did anything worthwhile

  • I carried a lot of shame, guilt, disgust, and self-loathing for almost 20 years

  • My therapist helped me realize this wasn’t my fault, and it wasn’t up to me to be the responsible one or to know better

  • My intimacy life has been completed healed since seeking therapy

  • I wouldn’t change it, because it helped me be there for others in their struggles


Mentioned in this Episode:

  • Manitoba Court Registry

  • Folklorama

  • Rachel Thompson: I talk about surviving childhood sexual abuse because I didn’t want to be ashamed anymore. Children don’t sexually abuse themselves.

  • Episode #2: Optimism

  • Puppy Videos Click Here



Thank you so much for choosing to spend time with me.

Come join our Facebook group, The Way I C It Community to engage in more conversation, and follow me on instagram, @misslinavee for more insight and updates!

If you have anything you want to tell me, or want me to touch on, you can also connect through the contact page


Get it on iTunes Icon
Google Play Music
Stitcher App Icon

Recent Posts

See All

Bringing Me the Joy

Carolina has a strong presence that draws people toward her. I have seen staff members turn to her for her life experience, leadership skills and her honesty. The respect and admiration of her peers is a reflection of her strength and accomplishments in the face of adversity. Carolina displays a great sense of integrity, she always follows through when she commits. Her word is her bond.

Jean Gaultier
bottom of page