top of page

PODCAST

EPISODES

PODCAST

EPISODES

007

Updated: Jun 25, 2018



Mental illness affects everyone. Whether you deal with it yourself, or someone you know is battling with their mind; it affects everyone. But the more we talk about it, and the more we educate ourselves on the topic, the more we can try to combat this stigma towards mental health. The more we can open people’s eyes to realizing its’ implications in all aspects of life. Knowledge is power, and although being aware isn’t a cure-all, it helps. I’ve lived the benefits.

Key Points:

  • It took a lot of research and self-awareness to learn to decipher between an OCD tick and a Carolina quirk

  • OCD is a cycle: involuntary thoughts - anxiety - compulsions - calm

  • Mental illness isn’t logical

  • Before I became aware of my illness, I called this other-persona “She-Hulk”

  • I started to behave in ways that would self-fulfill my thinking I was unworthy of being loved and understood

  • It was not a night and day journey, it look a lot of research, self-awareness, and professional help

  • My mother had no awareness, and took out her pain and inability to understand out on me

  • You can only blame your past for so long, until you have to learn to take responsibility for your own life

  • I still work at being able to go from suffering from mental illness, to learning to live with it and try to make it better


Mentioned in this Episode:

  • Obsessive Compulsive Information

  • Ruby Wax: It’s so common, it could be anyone. The trouble is, nobody wants to talk about it. And that makes everything worse



Thank you so much for choosing to spend time with me.

Come join our Facebook group, The Way I C It Community to engage in more conversation, and follow me on instagram, @misslinavee for more insight and updates!

If you have anything you want to tell me, or want me to touch on, you can also connect through the contact page


Get it on iTunes Icon
Google Play Music
Stitcher App Icon

Recent Posts

See All

Bringing Me the Joy

Carolina has a strong presence that draws people toward her. I have seen staff members turn to her for her life experience, leadership skills and her honesty. The respect and admiration of her peers is a reflection of her strength and accomplishments in the face of adversity. Carolina displays a great sense of integrity, she always follows through when she commits. Her word is her bond.

Jean Gaultier
bottom of page