top of page

PODCAST

EPISODES

PODCAST

EPISODES

006

Updated: Jun 25, 2018



In one of my most vulnerable episodes so far, I talk about my history with my mother and how she was a beautiful woman, whom unfortunately fought with mental illness. I love my mother, and I always will love my mother, but you can and you should love people from afar if loving them is at the expense of your own self love. Estranged children have a certain strength within, that means we can get through anything.

Key Points:

  • My mom had me at 19, which turned into us growing up more like siblings than mother and daughter

  • Although growing up was tough, it wasn’t all terrible

  • My mom used to be my best friend, like the Gilmore Girls

  • My mother is exceptionally talented, but blamed having me for not pursuing her dreams

  • My parents had a very on-again-off-again relationship, that went on to influence my dating life

  • I walked on eggshells growing up not knowing when the tables would turn

  • My moms bipolar disorder was triggered with the emotional move to Edmonton

  • We had a very on-again-off-again relationship after I moved out at 16

  • If you’ve gotten through the pain of losing a mother, you can get through anything

  • When people tell me I love myself too much, it’s because I had to

  • My love language is words of affirmation


Mentioned in this Episode:

  • Gilmore Girls

  • Chile

  • Bipolar Disorder

  • Last week's episode here

  • Picture of my mother










  • The Languages of Love - Take the quiz here to find yours

  • Rayne Wolfe: I will take everything negative about my mother and flip it in my life: I will create a welcoming and warm home life; I will express love and encourage others daily; I will extend myself to those in need and I will remember, a life well-lived is the best revenge



Thank you so much for choosing to spend time with me.

Come join our Facebook group, The Way I C It Community to engage in more conversation, and follow me on instagram, @misslinavee for more insight and updates!

If you have anything you want to tell me, or want me to touch on, you can also connect through the contact page


Get it on iTunes Icon
Google Play Music
Stitcher App Icon

Recent Posts

See All

Bringing Me the Joy

Carolina has a strong presence that draws people toward her. I have seen staff members turn to her for her life experience, leadership skills and her honesty. The respect and admiration of her peers is a reflection of her strength and accomplishments in the face of adversity. Carolina displays a great sense of integrity, she always follows through when she commits. Her word is her bond.

Jean Gaultier
bottom of page